My Top 5 Shopify Apps To Grow My Business

Happy Friday!šŸ˜Š

Hope your week has been great. I thought it could be valuable to discuss what apps I am using in Shopify to have an 8 figure site with. As I was first starting, I didnā€™t really use apps or realize how valuable some could be. We get scared when we might see $99/mo or something, but we have to look in terms of customer experience and the return.

There are millions of Shopify apps ranging from getting reviews to sending emails or texts to adding a certain feature on your home page, etc. But how do we know which one is right, good, or actually worth the money it might be?

Good news is Iā€™ve probably downloaded a thousand or so apps since I started, so I can help šŸ˜„

Now in terms of deciding which app to download, thereā€™s a couple things I look for. Because you type in one type of app, and 100 of the same will come up. So Iā€™ll use product reviews as an example

Initially, Iā€™m looking at reviews because Iā€™m not trying to waste time with every single app here.

After I click on one, (Iā€™m using Loox for this), then I immediately watch the video and view their demo store to see if this is the exact function Iā€™m looking for.

Then I scroll down and I look at all the features to make sure thatā€™s what I want. Then I head down to the big questionā€¦.How much is it?

Every app is going to cost at some point, but I typically only use ones that are going to help me generate more money. In the case of testimonials, itā€™s worth it to get as many reviews as possible for social proof.

Other things that I look for once I realize the function is exactly what I need:

  • Customer support - How good is it? Do they have a chat line?

  • How quickly can I implement the app? Time is money for lean start ups!

  • Will it require much maintenance?

  • How much will this app slow down site speed? Yes, all apps slow down your site, but sometimes itā€™s still worth it.

  • If the app checks all of the above boxes, letā€™s rock and roll!!

Iā€™m going to go through my top 5 favorite apps, what they do, how much income they can generate, and why I love them!

1. Klaviyo

Klaviyo is by far the best app you could have for your store! Why? Email marketing is still amazing and I donā€™t care what the gurus tell you about it dying, they are wrong. Your owned lists are the most profitable and powerful things you could build. Klaviyo is so user friendly, and you can set up tons of automated email flows which then become like printing money in your sleep. And then once you gather enough subscribers with sign ups, purchases, etc. you can send your email campaigns out with it as well.

Klaviyo makes up for 30% of my revenue on site which can be upwards of $300K a month just from this one app. Now yes, I have 350K subscribers so itā€™s not always going to be that much, but a great % for email will be around 30%. This is the first app I download with a new store. I create all the automated flows necessary and then I get my sign ups firing! This is a must! The cost starts off free, and increases for the amount of subscribers you have. The ROI on this app is off the charts.

2. Gorgias

Customer service for an online company is EVERYTHING! And my team would die without Gorgias. It integrates into every software we use, and long story short, your customer service team doesnā€™t have to go through email chains with gmail. Nor do they have to go to facebook or instagram to respond to comments. Everything in one place.

For Shopify orders, when you pull up a ā€œticketā€ or email regarding an order, that customer order is connected to the email so they can make instant changes all within the app. Weā€™ve created a tonnnn of automated responses for really easy questions that you get all the time.

And then yes, since we are big on social media, I canā€™t respond to every comment. My team can do this within Gorgias and respond to every single comment and every message we get.

The last piece that we love is for sms, we now can be more 1 on 1 and conversational with the customer because our team can respond to our text blast outs!

3. Postscript

This is kind of hand in hand with Klaviyo, but I use Postscript for SMS marketing. Like email, this is ultra profitable because once you get that customer on your subscriber list, well now the cost of reaching them just dropped drastically. I wish I had started SMS right at the beginning, but hey thatā€™s why im telling you. I switched to Postscript this year from a competitor, and I use their ā€œdo it for youā€ service called Postscript Plus. The experience has been amazing, and we are up to 90K sms subscribers. In a single sale campaign, SMS can account for up to $20K for us. Hell, Black Fridayā€™s first text might be a $50K text or more!

With how expensive paid media is becoming, owned media like email and sms is just so important now. Build that community and use Postscript to do so!

4. Rebuy

I love this app because it adds the little things that are necessary to a website. They arenā€™t always flashy, but the features just make sense to the customer. Increasing AOV is CRUCIAL to success and this app helps tremendously there with upsell, cross sells, add ons, etc. Let me show you!

Most products have accessories or other products that pair well. Customers donā€™t know until you tell them. So here, we show our products that are easy add ons to the Universal Buddy. Itā€™s simple, but drinking lids are our #1 selling product and this is how you find it.

Then I also love their cart fly out so when a customer adds to cart, it doesnā€™t make them leave the page, but it shows the cart on half the screen. We also have additional products that pair well with their item in cart, and this is based on AI learning from the app, or you can put specific products there. Then look at the top, and it incentivizes the customer to add some more to get to that free shipping. Again, itā€™s the little things that add up.

And finally we also have a similar feature at the checkout page as a last effort if they want to add something else!

You think the app is worth it? How about an extra $21K just for adding a couple of little features. Yep, Iā€™ll take it šŸ˜

5. Stamped.io

Last but not least is our review and loyalty app, Stamped.io. I paired both together because they go hand in hand!

Reviews are beyond important in todayā€™s world. Think about when you buy, whatā€™s the first thing you look at normallyā€¦reviews.

Yes, people will leave reviews organically, but with Stamped, we set up review send requests. 20 days after their order has been shipped out, the app automatically sends an email asking them to leave a review.

Social proof helps sell a product more than anything because people trust people. With Stamped, you can even give them an incentive like a discount to leave a review with a photo or video. This has been huge for us.

They also have a loyalty app that you can set up a rewards program with. Honestly Iā€™m not wild about a rewards program. I would probably stick to just a straight referral incentive and then build a Facebook Group Community.

These 5 apps have played a major role in our growth and play a major role in our revenue month over month. When I created my new store, gamedayfanshop.com, these were the first apps that were downloaded.

Hopefully this helps if you are not sure what apps to download for your store, or if you just oneā€™s know where to begin. Apps can really help generate a ton of revenue for you and at not a lot of cost.

If you like this, please subscribe and share it with someone you think could find some value šŸ˜„

Donā€™t forget to:

Connect with me on LinkedIn

Subscribe to my podcast:

Follow me on Tik Tok

Have a great weekend šŸ˜Š