How We Made $15K In 60 Minutes | New Product Launch Strategy

4 Steps To A Great Launch..

Hey Hey! 

It finally happened!! LAUNCH DAY…. For what though? 

The Chubby Buddy of course 😄 What’s that? The world’s 1st Modelo bottle cooler! 

Yep, I created a koozie that ONLY fits 12oz Modelo bottles. And before you ask, yes I’ve already sold over 1000 in the first 3 days of pre-orders. 

I’m pretty sure we ended up doing almost $15K in the first hour of launch and it’s mainly because of my new launch strategy that I want to share with you :) 

It’s pretty simple, but man was it super effective especially for a $30 product that literally only fits one drink! 

So let’s break down the pieces of this product launch strategy and what I would change:

PRODUCT LAUNCH STRATEGY 

  • Tik Tok / Social Media

  • Opt In Landing Page

  • Waitlist

  • Launch Day

1. Tik Tok / Social Media Promotion

Why do companies think that new products should be a secret? I used to think that for the longest time, but for the Chubby Buddy, I thought I’d try something new. 

In March, I told Tik Tok about the world’s 1st Modelo bottle cooler when I knew we wouldn’t actually have it until August. The very first video I posted had 835K views. I could not believe how quickly it blew up because the Mexican culture on Tik Tok is HUGE. 

So I figured why not keep on posting because 1) It grew my Tik Tok following like crazy and 2) It only would get the hype going more. 

The #1 comment was “where can I get it” and then “when can I get it” and then I saw the typical “Mexicans don’t need bottle openers” and “I drink too fast”… ok cool guy

So I am, I have millions of views and millions of questions about this Modelo Bottle Cooler, but it’s not available for 5 months so what can I do? 

2. Landing Page / Opt In

The next step in this product launch was to 1) Get a waitlist going so that I wasn’t wasting social media views and 2) Grow my subscriber list because who doesn’t want to grow that 😂

KISS - KEEP IT SIMPLE STUPID

Video explaining what the product is / getting people hype along with a simple sign up. My Postscript team put together this sign up with the Shopify app JustUno. We always do a dual sign up so first is email, and then it goes to sms. This allows me to grow both lists and plan a launch strategy on both email and sms.

I’m about to start prepping a launch for another new product, and I will clean up this landing page a little bit. But hey it still worked and organically we were able to generate over 4000 people on our waitlist for the Modelo. 

3. Waitlist

Now we have 4000 people on our waitlist between sms and email. We did make one mistake, and don’t make this mistake! (At least on sms) 

We sent an update text to our list to let them know that the Modelo was close to pre-order thinking that it would be good to give an update. It has been quite awhile. Issue was…we lost 600 subscribers. At a 25% conversion rate from our launch, that’s $4500 in the hour that we missed out on. 

So when you have the list, I know it seems weird to want to update them, but just use social media to update them. They’d rather not get the update text 😂

4. Launch Dayyy

Just last week it was launch day! We had close to 4000 subscribers on our waitlist, and we were 5-10 days from receiving the product. I only ordered 4000 units so I wanted to give the waitlist and my Facebook group first access in case we would sell out after blasting it out. 

We scheduled an email and a text to go out at the same time to our waitlist. The results were pretty crazy! 

This is just our SMS and it’s the craziest numbers I’ve experienced since starting Frost Buddy!!! 

This also is for a product that only fits a Modelo bottle 😂 We ended up right around 500 units, and then we did 350 the next day, and we are continuing to see high numbers! 

That’s It!

That’s what strategy I used and am going to use in the future! It’s not rocket science, but unless you have something super super proprietary that you don’t want to share, then get people excited early. Get people hyped up that something is coming. You don’t have to tell them everything, just enough :)

I’m starting the process for 20oz mugs in November, and I’m going to get that we do more than $15K because mugs are widely used and I’m launching a full color line up. 

If you want more tips, or you like hearing stories about my experiences and Frost Buddy, don’t be shy! Hit subscribe and you can get something new every week 😉 It could be business, personal life, fitness, motivation, or heck just some crazy thought of that week. 

What I do know is  I’m doing a disservice if I don’t share what I’m learning. If I were starting 2 years ago and someone was giving me knowledge like this, it would’ve sped up my progress like crazy. 

Everyday is just a big journey of learning and I’m excited to keep sharing it! 

Until next week! 

Your Buddy Brock 😄

P.S. would you share this newsletter with someone that may be interested!! Help a guy out ;)